schools-education.png

Schools & Education

all you need for relocation to scotland: edinburgh

Schools & Education: Term Dates

School Holidays 2016 - 2017 in Edinburgh and the Lothians

The start date for session 2016/ 2017 for pupils is Wednesday 17 August 2016.

We take every care to ensure the holiday data here is accurate, but please always check with your children's school before booking any holidays!

2016/2017  Academic year Date

Autumn

Term starts Wednesday 17 August 2016

Mid-term holidays

Autumn holiday: Monday 19 September 2016 
Mid term break: Monday 17 October - Monday 24 October 2016 
Term ends: Thursday 22 December 2016

Winter

Christmas holidays

Friday 23 December 2016 - Monday 9 January 2017

Spring

Term starts Tuesday 10 January 2017

Mid-term holidays

Mid term break: Monday 13 February - Friday 17 February 2017 
Term ends: Friday 31 March 2017

Easter holidays

Monday 3 April 2017 - Monday 17 April 2017

Summer

Term starts Tuesday 18 April 2017

Mid-term holidays

May Day: Monday 1 May 2017 
Staff only day to coincide with Scottish local government election: Thursday 4 May 2017 
Victoria Day: Monday 22 May 2017 
Term ends: Friday 30 June 2017

 

The 2017 school term will start on Wednesday 16 August 2017

schools-education.png

Schools & Education

Key to symbols

child-friendly-32.png Ideal for families gold-star.png Our rating system of 1-5 stars
did-you-know.png Did you know? warning-32.png Important alert
practical-info.png Timesaving information disabled-access-32.png Accessibility